To learn what a test environment refresh is and how to request one, refer to About test environment refresh.
This topic describes the options available to control how integrations, single sign-on (SSO), and data are handled during a refresh.
- If you want a standard refresh, you do not need to request any options. By default, all Production LTI and extensibility tools and links are copied to the test site.
- This includes LTI 1.1 and 1.3 tools. LTI 1.3 links are downgraded to LTI 1.1 in the test site for security reasons.
You can request multiple refresh options, but some options cannot be combined because they perform incompatible actions. Some options, including disabling users, limiting storage, or deleting email addresses, can be requested independently of a test environment refresh.
Refresh options:
- Affect the entire Brightspace instance and all organizations.
- Are included with any refresh upon request.
When requesting a refresh from your CSM or TAM, review and include any options you want to use.
Maintain allowed local user list, 2FA, extra SSO settings
Option: Authentication SSO: Clear Prod and Keep Test
- Maintains test site Allowed Local User list.
- Maintains test site Two Factor Authentication (2FA) tokens.
- Maintains test site SSO Buttons and Login Settings.
- Maintains test site SAML JIT Config and Role Mappings.
- Maintains test site OpenID Connect Mappings.
- Maintains test site SAML IDPS, Keys and Metadata.
Delete all LTI
Option: Delete all LTI
- Removes all existing LTI tools and links from the test site.
- Cannot be used with LTI 1.1 And 1.3: Clear Prod Keep Test.
Maintain existing test extensibility and Valence tools
Option: Extensibility Tools: Clear Prod and Keep Test
- Does not copy the production, extensibility, and Valence tools and providers to test.
- Keep the test extensibility and Valence tools and providers.
Maintain existing test LTI 1.1 and 1.3
Option: LTI 1.1 And 1.3: Clear Prod Keep Test

|
Important: Selecting Delete all LTI permanently deletes all LTI tools and links in the test environment. If you use this option with LTI 1.1 and 1.3: Clear Prod Keep Test, all LTI data in the test environment may be permanently deleted.
|
Limit files / reduce storage
Option: Limit Storage By Date
- Limits files that are available or copied to the non-production instance as part of a refresh.
- Reduces storage footprint of test sites allowing clients to focus their data purge work on production.
- On a provided date (for example, 2024-03-24), files created or last modified before that date are removed from the refreshed test instance database.
- This does not affect data, only storage.
- If a test site user views a Dropbox submission that has been removed, the Dropbox submission will still exist and all data about the submission will exist in the user interface.
- If you try to open the attachment there will be an error because the file doesn’t exist on test. The data exists, but you the file cannot be opened.
Affected file types
Limit files / reduce storage affects the following file types:
- Quiz feedback
- Discussion attachments
- Dropbox user submissions
- Dropbox group submissions
- Dropbox user feedback
- Dropbox group feedback
- Locker groups
- Content

|
Note: Branding and logos are not affected. |