Course Reset allows you to return a course to an empty shell. This is helpful when incorrect components are copied into a course, or changes are made incorrectly and the easiest solution is to start from an empty shell, without having to perform the additional step of creating a new course and re-enrolling all instructors and learners.
Note: Resetting a course is permanent and cannot be undone. All course components and user progress data is deleted and is not available in data sets. All activities, content, and course files are deleted and cannot be restored using normal UI restore tools.
Optional items to keep or delete when resetting a course:
- Course groups and group enrollments
- Course navbars, homepages, and widgets
Note: The deletion of all course files by Course Reset can impact course navbars and widgets.
The following items are not affected by Course Reset:
- User enrollments in the course
- Course sections and section enrollments
- Course paths or course associations
- Objects in the Learning Repository
- User data in a linked SCORM object
- Portfolio or ePortfolio objects
- ePortfolio forms and sharing groups
- Email and Instant Messages to/from course groups
- Activity Feed data
Reset a course
Resetting a course permanently deletes the selected components. Any content, activities, grades etc. deleted using this process cannot be restored.
- On the navbar of the course you want to reset, click Course Admin.
- Under Administration, click Course Reset.
- On the Course Reset page, select the following:
• Reset course content, activities, associated files, user grades, user progress, and interaction data
• Group enrollments and group categories (optional)
• Course homepages, navbars, and widgets (optional)
Click Reset Course.
If applicable, review the dialog warning that lists the following active course activities:
The number of unevaluated assignment submissions in the course
The number of unevaluated quiz attempts in the course
The number of users who have accessed the course in the last 14 days
Select the check box to confirm the following: I am aware that resetting this course cannot be undone. I would still like to continue to reset the data in this course.
Note: While the course reset is in progress navigating away from the page does not cancel the process.
Course Reset logs
- From the Course Reset tool, click Audit Log.
- Observe information on Date, Requested By, and Status of any resets that have occurred in the course.
- In the Status column, click See Detailed Logs for additional information on Execution Date, Component Name, and Status. Any errors are listed in the Status column.
Note: Errors generated during a Course Reset can be further investigated in the System Log.