This article summarizes upcoming disruptive changes, including changes in default behavior and removal of functionality. Changes in default behavior can include the introduction of new features (opt-in), as well as changes in default functionality (defaulted-on, forced-off). Near the beginning of every month, there are updates to this page, on a rolling 12-month time frame, with the earliest time-frame appearing at the top of the list. When a historical change has been complete for a full calendar year, it no longer appears on the Historical Changes table.
Note: To determine the date when an update is scheduled based on the version number, you can also read the version as a year and month. For example: 20.24.11 (year= 2024, month =11/November), or 20.25.5 (year= 2025, month = 5/May).
Upcoming Changes
| Tool/Product Update |
Historical changes |
Known Future Updates |
|---|
| New Display pages for Assessable Activities
(Assignment, Quiz, Discussion, and Instructor LTI) in New Content Experience
Refer to: Introducing New Display Pages for Assessable Activities in New Content Experience
|
20.24.03: Available (OFF)
20.26.06: ON (Overridable)
|
20.26.09: Default
|
| Enhanced Table of Contents in New Content Experience
Refer to: July 2025/20.25.07 Release Notes
|
20.25.07: Available (OFF)
20.26.06: ON (Overridable)
|
20.26.09: Default
|
|
Rubric Icon in Assignments, Discussions, and Quizzes
Rubric icons are added to the Assignments, Discussions, and Quizzes list views along with Quiz Question List views to indicate where Rubrics are used.
Refer to: July 2025/20.25.07 Release Notes
|
20.26.06: Available (OFF)
20.26.07: ON (Overridable)
|
20.26.09: Default |
|
New Manage Members workflows in Manage Groups
Refer to: Introducing New Manage Members Workflows in Manage Groups
|
|
20.26.11: Default if opted-in to the new Manage Groups experience |
|
Improved assignment creation from the Groups tool
This feature updates the assignment creation page to be the same interface used when creating assignments in the assignment tool. This update only applies to creating an assignment from the group category management page.
Refer to: February 2026/20.26.02 Release Notes
|
20.26.02: ON (Overridable)
20.26.05: ON (User Overridable)
20.26.07: Updated adoption timeline
|
20.26.12: Default
|
|
EOL of Brightspace Parent & Guardian App
Brightspace Parent & Guardian App features are now part of the Brightspace Pulse app.
Refer to: Brightspace Mobile Updates: Brightspace Parent & Guardian is now part of Brightspace Pulse
|
20.26.07: Announcement of End of Support |
20.27.02: App removed from the App Store |
|
Manage Groups Updated Page
Refer to: Groups Management – A refresh of the manage groups page and increased numbers of groups per category
|
20.26.07: Available (OFF) |
20.27.02: ON (Overridable)
20.27.05: Default
|
|
EOL of Self Assessment tool
Self assessments can be migrated to the Quizzes tool, where they have similar functionality.
Refer to: Intent to EOL Self Assessments
|
20.26.09: Intend to EOL Announcement. An End of Life notice will be displayed within the Self Assessment tool. |
20.27.01: No new Self Assessments can be created within the Self Assessment tool. A migration utility will be available within the Quizzes tool to automatically migrate all Self Assessments within your course into Quizzes.
20.27.05: The Self Assessment tool will no longer be available.
|
Historical changes
Note: In accordance with our content retention policy, we only retain content from the current and previous calendar year. Any features that became the default setting before 2025 have been removed.
Legend
Available (OFF) - Experience/feature is off by default and can be enabled by admins. Previously listed as OFF
User Opt-Out - Experience or function is now the leading experience but customers can still revert to the legacy experience. Administrative override available if required. This setting will set the new experience by default, with users having the ability to opt-out back to the legacy experience. Previously listed as ON/User opt-in or ON/User opt-out.
ON - Experience or feature is on. Administrative override is still available. This is used to move all customers to the new experience, and users do not have the option to Opt-In or Opt-Out. Admins have the ability to override.
Default - The new experience or feature has replaced the legacy experience or feature. There is no administrative override available.
Removed - Functionality has been removed and is no longer available.
EOL - A tool or product has been removed and signifies the End of Life of the item.