Restrictions enable you to limit the groups of people and learning that are available for assignment to Learning Groups. Only users and learning that match the restriction criteria are available to be added to learning groups. If no restrictions are set, all users and learning from all org units are visible in the Learning Groups tool and available for automatic and manual assignment to learning groups.
D2L recommends setting up restrictions for Learning Groups upon initial implementation of the tool. For additional information, refer to the Locked Learning Groups product blog post in Brightspace Community.