In a higher education or corporate learning environment, adult learners document and share their learning journey with the Brightspace Portfolio app or Portfolio tool in Brightspace. D2L recommends using one of the following workflows for these learning environments:
- Evidence sharing with instructors
- Evidence not linked to a course
Evidence sharing with instructors
In this workflow, learners collect evidence and choose when to share it with instructors for assessment. This workflow is ideal for learners in a higher education learning environment where they may have work in progress that is not ready to share with instructors. For instructors, this allows them to only see evidence that is carefully curated by the learner for review, feedback, and assessment.
With the mobile app, learners capture photos or videos of their learning as it happens (known as evidence) and record their thoughts and reflections.
Learners upload pictures and audio reflections to Brightspace from the app.
From the Portfolio tool in Brightspace, the submitted evidence immediately appears in learner portfolios (no approval process). Instructors do not see evidence until learners explicitly share it with them, making this ideal for work in progress. The ability to allow learners to share evidence with instructors is configured by an administrator.
Once the evidence has been carefully curated by the learners, they share it with instructors, who then review the evidence and provide their feedback and assessments.
Note the following:
- To allow learners to share evidence with instructors, an administrator must turn on this workflow.
- Once instructor sharing is turned on by an administrator,
learners can only share evidence with instructors from the Portfolio tool in Brightspace.
If you are currently using Brightspace Portfolio and an administrator turns on instructor sharing for the first time, any existing evidence that was previously visible to you continues to be visible. However, any new evidence will not be visible to you until a learner shares it.
Evidence containing feedback, rubrics, or outcomes cannot be unshared with instructors.
Archived evidence can be shared and then unshared with instructors, even if it contains feedback, rubrics, or outcomes.
Learners can also share evidence with instructors by clicking the (...) Options menu on an evidence tile and selecting Share with Instructors.
- When a learner shares evidence with an instructor, the date and time the evidence is shared is added to the evidence, visible to the learner and the instructor. However, the date and time that the evidence was collected is only visible to the learner.
Evidence not linked to a course
In this workflow, learners collect evidence and choose not to link it to a course. This workflow is ideal for older learners in a higher education or corporate learning environment, as they may not be enrolled in courses, but still need to collect evidence of learning in an independent location where assessment by an instructor is unnecessary. For example, extracurricular activities, internships, or independent learning/research.
- With the mobile app or web application, learners capture photos or videos of their learning as it happens (known as evidence) and record their thoughts and reflections.
- When learners upload evidence in the Portfolio web application, they are redirected to the Evidence page, which displays an option that allows them to choose whether to link the evidence to a course or not.
- When a learner uploads evidence in the Brightspace Portfolio app, learners are prompted to choose a folder to upload evidence to: Unlinked Evidence or one of the courses they are enrolled in.
- From the Portfolio web application, when learners navigate to the Portfolio landing page and click View By: Courses, an Unlinked Evidence tile displays, along with active course tiles. The Unlinked Evidence tile is where learners can add and view all uploaded evidence that is not linked to a course. Clicking the Unlinked Evidence tile displays all unlinked and linked evidence on the View By: Evidence page. From this page, learners can filter the evidence by Linked to Course or Has No Course.
Note the following:
- Evidence not linked to a course is hidden to instructors. This means that evidence cannot be assessed by instructors unless learners link the evidence to a course.
- If Instructor sharing is enabled, learners must first link the evidence to a course and then share it with the instructor. Instructor sharing is not automatic when evidence is linked to a course and instructor sharing is enabled.
- Learners can unlink evidence that only contain private notes, with the private notes remaining on the piece of evidence. This means that if an instructor has shared a private note with other instructors, and the learner then links the evidence to a new course, the new instructor can see the old instructor note.
- If learners remove or change a linked course, all class categories are removed from the linked evidence.
- If a piece of evidence is shared with an instructor and it contains feedback, rubrics, or outcomes, the learner cannot remove or change the linked course.
- If a learner has no unlinked evidence, the image preview for the Unlinked Evidence tile defaults to the org-defined theme color. Once the learner uploads unlinked evidence, the most recent piece of evidence is selected as the preview image for the tile.