Display multiple images in-line in evaluation

Is there any way to display images in-line for evaluation? I am an art professor using BrightSpace and I regularly have students submitting 5-10 jpg images which I then have to click and open each link individually to view the jpg. As you might imagine, this is arduous when assessing a large class. For PDF files, the submissions display in-line. Is there any way to display a preview of jpg files in-line for submissions? I've been struggling with this for years… Thanks!!

Tagged:

Answers

• Johnny.B.962
    Johnny.B.962 Posts: 81
    edited August 21

@Joshua.F.430, when viewing Assignment Submissions, each file is a separate entity, so you'll have to open each separately. Prior to submission, you could have your students combine their jpg files together as a single PDF and the images would be separate pages. There are a number of free online tools to do this, but you may want to review them for security and data privacy concerns prior to having your students use them (may want to consult your organization's IT department on this to assist), so I won't be recommending a particular one here.

Alternatively, if you setup your Assignment as a Text submission, this will give your students just a text block to enter in their submission (much like creating the description for your Assignment). Students could use the toolbar to insert each of the images they want to submit into the text block and add comments around if they would like. Depending on how big the images are, this could make loading the evaluation page a bit slower for you, and you wouldn't have access to the annotation tools via this method, but it would show all the images inline as you indicated. [See comment below]

As with many things regarding teaching with Brightspace there are multiple ways to go about getting the particular result you want, just depends on how exactly you want to set things up. I hope that helps!

-Johnny
    D2L LAM

• Joshua.F.430