Create quiz where some questions have no marks

Kate.R.967
Kate.R.967 Posts: 4 🌱
edited August 2023 in Higher Ed / Postsecondary
Hi all! I am new to D2L, and I'm trying to figure out how I can A) create a formative quiz with no marks, and B) create a quiz where SOME questions have no marks. I'd be grateful if you have any ideas on how I can do this!
Tagged:

Best Answers

• Jennifer.W.973
    Jennifer.W.973 Posts: 357 🎆
    edited August 2023 Answer ✓

@Kate.taylor@georgebrown.ca Hi Kate, for the quiz with no marks, do you plan to add a grade item for it to the gradebook? If not, you could just set up a regular quiz and prevent the students from seeing their results. Uncheck Auto-Publish attempt results immediately upon completion (and/or Attempt Grade, in case you manually publish later) under Evaluation & Feedback in the quiz settings. If you do want to give them credit just for doing the quiz, you could set the quiz up the way I explained here.

For the 2nd quiz, do you want extra credit questions in the quiz? Those are called bonus in D2L. Or you can set the points for those questions to .00001 as a workaround for not being able to set it to 0.

• Jennifer.W.973
    Answer ✓

@Kate.R.967 You're welcome!

Check the box(es) next to the question(s) you want to treat as extra credit, then click More Actions, and Toggle Bonus.

Answers

• Kate.R.967

@Jennifer.W.973 Thank you so much for your help on this. Your response is really useful!

I am working on creating the 2nd quiz I described right now, and it's easy enough to sent the points to .00001, which I imagine rounds up to 0.

How do I ask a "bonus" question? I do not see that as an option in the dropdown menu?

Thank you! I'm grateful for your help!

• Kate.R.967

Awesome, thank you! One more question, @Jennifer.W.973 . I want to have a "multi-select" multiple choice question where ANY answer is right. In other words, students will get a point just for answering the question. Can you tell me how I can do this?