Best Of
Archived Product & Services Previews
Hi,
I see that the January Product & Services Preview was just released on the new community (https://community.d2l.com/brightspace/kb/articles/5567-product-and-services-preview). It says it covers Jan-March, but I actually only see March & April in it.
Also, I'm looking for the December Product & Services Preview (since it did have Jan & Feb in it), but I can't seem to locate it. The direct link to it on the legacy community gives an error page (asking to log in- even though I am logged in): https://community.brightspace.com/s/article/000019871. And the link to the general Product & Services Preview on the legacy site takes me to the January Release Page (https://community.brightspace.com/s/article/Product-and-Services-Preview-2022).
Where are the previous Product & Service Preview PDFs being archived? I looked in the Product Blog and didn't see them. Can we have an area created like the Release Notes- with the prior product and services pdfs being put on the left panel? Can there also be a discussion for the Product & Services like there is for the Release Notes so that we can bookmark it and get a notification when they are released on the new community- since I think that is going to be the way to get notifications now?
@Stefanie Bal729, @Mary Mac165
Thanks,
Autumn Moore
autumn.moore@usg.edu
Re: Archived Product & Services Previews
Hi @Autumn_Moore The previous ones were, indeed, archived. It is our intention to only have one Product and Services Preview PDF live at a time. Let me take the feedback about missing Jan/Feb content back to the Release Management team to troubleshoot. I'll post a new PDF if/when that's warranted.
We can likely have a discussion item like the Release Notes to bookmark/get notifications. I'll set that up in the next few days.
Cheers,
MaryMac
Teams Integration bugs
Hi, In our Brightspace Teams Integration widget, if the user ticks the box for "make a team for all sections" it will make two identical teams with identical enrollment even if there is only one section of the class. Then if the user deletes one of those teams, it deletes both of them. Then the user can't make a new Team, and the links to the deleted teams are still in the widget. The University of Leiden Brightspace Support Team says this: "Do not delete a Microsoft Teams environment you created through the Course Connector within Brightspace. Doing so will remove the environment from Microsoft Teams but will not remove the link from your Brightspace course to said Teams environment and you will not be able to create a new Microsoft Teams environment." (source: https://universiteitleiden.screenstepslive.com/a/1350629-microsoft-teams-support-and-troubleshooting ). Any ideas?
Re: Release Notes Updates
February 2023/20.23.2 Preview Release Notes are live and ready for review!
Please note, this is only a preview for the upcoming Brightspace version, which we will begin to roll out on February 2. All features described are subject to change before then.
Re: Changing images in the Visual Table of Contents
Hi @Megan.Leight4777 Did you manage to resolve this? I have found that I sometimes need to open the Brightspace Editor where I pasted the new image, go to the HTML view and delete all code, then insert the image again. Additionally, be sure to clear your history/cache. 🙂
Re: Where will the link to PIEs be? I thought I might find it under Resources, but it's not there--yet?
Thanks, all. Weird, but I am now seeing the link.
New and better every day!
Re: What function do "Enrollment Options" play on the "Add Existing Users" screen?
Stefanie... Thanks for the response. Sorry to be a nudge on this question, but I think we're getting closer. Try going through your last numbered list. My experience is that I go through 1-5 to set up the entire screen, then 6. hit the magnifying glass icon to perform the search, and when I do, the "Set all Roles to" and "Set all Sections To" fields get reset to "--Select a Role--" and "--Select a Section--" respectively.
However, I have discovered that AFTER the search is complete, I can use use the dropdowns to select a role and a section, and use the "Set all roles" and "Set all sections" buttons to update everything found by the search. From a usability point of view, this might be more obvious if the Enrollment Options came AFTER the search options instead of before; and obviously, the documentation needs to reflect this as well.
Also, I would suggest NOT resetting the "Set all Roles To" and "Set all Sections To" fields when a search is performed.
I also question the current behavior... the "Set all roles" and "Set all Sections" buttons current apply to the entire list. It might be more useful if these buttons ONLY updated selected items (and so the buttons would be titled "Set Selected Roles" and "Set Selected Sections" respectively.)
I can add these suggestions to the PIE if it's appropriate.
Re: What function do "Enrollment Options" play on the "Add Existing Users" screen?
FYI... based on this discussion, I have opened a PIE entry: Improved Enrollment Options Usability (D9910)
Re: How can I book one-on-one meetings with learners using the Zoom integration?
Thanks for reaching out here at the Brightspace Community.
In my experience, setting up one zoom meeting (this generates only one meeting event - making it easier to manage) as an office hour link and enabling a waiting room can allow you to more seamlessly manage your 1-1s with students enrolled in a particular course offering. By enabling the waiting room option for the Zoom link, the meeting host can manually admit participants into the meeting per their appointment time.
Alternatively, the Zoom Help Center is your best resource for all things Zoom. Their short, modular tutorial videos and instructions are designed to help you easily find the support you’re looking for.
I hope this helps.







