Examples of Well Designed University Spanish Courses

Hello, I'm an instructional designer from Villanova University in Pennsylvania, USA. We are in the early stages of implementing Brightspace for our higher education university campus. We're migrating from Blackboard (Original) Learn 9.1. I'm working with an early adopter instructor who teaches in our Spanish Department. She is seeking some sample courses to get ideas for an effective pedagogical course design for this discipline. I was wondering if there are any sample courses in the D2L Brightspace Community that I can refer her to. We are on the original content experience therefore it would be useful to see sample courses running this version.

Thank you.

Answers

• Hello Richard,

Thank you for reaching out! It's exciting to hear that you're in the early stages of implementing Brightspace at Villanova University.

Regarding sample courses, the D2L Brightspace Community is a great resource for finding inspiration and ideas for pedagogical course design. While there may not be discipline-specific sample courses readily available in the community itself, you can explore various resources and templates that are shared by other institutions or users. Here are a few options you can explore:

1. Learning Center in the Brightspace Community: The D2L Learning Center offers training courses and sample materials that can give instructors insight into how to structure a course. You can find examples that provide general guidance on effective course design and use of the original content experience (OCE) within Brightspace.
    2. Instructor Webinar Series: D2L regularly offers webinars and instructional materials for different disciplines. These often include examples of course layouts and pedagogical strategies, which could be useful for your Spanish Department instructor.