"Hidden before start" is still visible to students

Options
Jean.E.909
Jean.E.909 Posts: 2 🔍
edited August 2023 in Higher Ed / Postsecondary
In Course Admin-Manage Dates-Bulk Edit Dates the options under Start Dates and End Dates are
Visible with access restricted before start
Visible with submission restricted before start
Hidden before start
It seems that if I select Hidden before start, then a students would not SEE the item in the content before the start date, but when I view the content as a learner, I can still see the item- the start date is listed, but the item is still listed.
What is the difference between Access Restricted before start and Hidden Before Start if the item that is "hidden" is still visible to students?
Tagged:

Answers

  • Heba.A.271
    Options

    Hi Jean,

    Thank you for reaching Brightspace community!

    I would recommend raising a support case for the issue reported on the behaviour of the Bulk edit date so that support can verify the issue on the Hidden visibility. The  Manage dates Bulk Edit dialog shows the new availability date settings, but applied changes affect only assignments and discussions.

    Hope this helps!

    Regards,

  • Jennifer.W.973
    Jennifer.W.973 Posts: 242 🌟
    Options

    @Jean.E.909 View as Learner does not work correctly sometimes, especially when it comes to hidden content. It's better to impersonate a learner from the Classlist, but your institution may not have that enabled.