Merged Courses and Using Student View to See What Students Can See

Options

When I go to "Student View" for my merged courses, it doesn't show anything that is in the "parent" course. Why is that?

Best Answer

Answers

• Linda.B.432
    Linda.B.432 Posts: 5 🌱
    Options

Thank you, Brian.

This is my first time using the merged course option in Brightspace, so I've been struggling--slightly-- with how things are suppposed to be and appear, as it works differently than our previous LMS.

One thing that is happening is that whenever I click to view as student, it takes me to one of the other sections. It confuses me and makes me think something SHOULD be there (that is what prompted my question).

So I guess my real question is: Did my creation of content in one of the sections pre-merge cause "View as Student" to default to showing that "pre-merge section" instead of the merged course? (I hope this makes sense. I'm haven't been able to find any documentation on the merge process from the standpoint of an instructor. I did find some one thing, out of many attempts, via Google search).

• Linda.B.432
    Options

I may need to clear my cache so that doesn't happen. I'll try that. If it doesn't solve the problem, I'll be back.

• Linda.B.432
    Options

Here is one site that gives some of the instructor perspective of merging.

https://www.montana.edu/ecat/help/instructor_tutorials/course_management/merge/index.html

I think this portion of this page discusses something that might be at the root of my problem:

• Request a merged course BEFORE adding content and/or setting up common tool areas (Assignments, Discussions etc.) in a course/section that will be used in a merge. When work has been done in a course/section that is to be used in a merge, the completed work is not easily accessed after the merge is built.