Delete a course

Options
Hello,

Sorry, I can't seem to find a easy to understand explanation to officially delete a course on brightspace.

Do I need to be on the course to delete it? do I go on Admin tools? Please let me know.

thank you so much,

Elena

Best Answer

  • Jace.R.900
    Jace.R.900 Posts: 2
    Answer ✓
    Options

    Hello, Elena!

    Great question! You can delete a course within Brightspace by going to Admin Tools (the gear icon in the upper right corner of the page) and going to Course Management under the Course Related header. From there, you can use the Find Course Offerings box to search for the course in question (using either the name of the course or Org Unit ID value). When you run the search, a list of courses that match that criteria will appear in the results at the bottom of the page.

    You can delete any of those courses by either checking the boxes to the left of their name and selecting Delete Selected, or you can select the trash can icon (delete course offering) on the right side of the page.

    Either of these will 'Delete' the course, but the story doesn't quite end there!

    If you find that you've accidentally deleted the wrong course, Brightspace has you covered! It is possible to restore the courses (at least at this stage!) if you need to.

    To restore a course, navigate to Admin Tools, and then go to Org Unit Editor under the Organization Related header. (This is also where you would want to navigate if you wanted to delete an org unit other than a course offering, like a course template or program.)

    Select the Recycle Bin button at the top left of the page. This will bring you to a searchable list of all courses that have been 'deleted' through the method we just discussed. Search for the course you need to restore, and then click the checkbox to the left of it.

    At the top of the page, you will have two available options: Restore and Delete Permanently.

    Restore will restore the course to the searchable index of courses in Brightspace. All student work, enrollments, settings and course materials will be in place when it is restored, so you don't need to take any other action.

    Delete Permanently will permanently remove the course from the listing. Be careful and take your time to make sure you click on the right one!

    I hope that this information is helpful! Best of luck and let us know if you have any other questions!

    - Jace

Answers

  • Jenn.H.328
    Jenn.H.328 Posts: 5
    Options

    Hi Elena!

    First, you need to make sure that your user has the right permissions to delete course offerings.

    If you do have permission, the easiest way to delete a course is to go into Org Unit Editor and then find the course offering you want to remove and click on it. Then you should be able to click "Move To Recycle Bin" button at the top of the page. The course offering will be moved into your instance recycle bin for 30-days and then it will be permanently deleted. 😁

  • Elena Annabel.T.20
    Elena Annabel.T.20 Posts: 3 🔍
    Options

    Thank you both so much!

    I was accidentally doing something else; I really appreciate it!

    Best!

    Elena