How do I generate/download user content progress report?

Options
Andre.M.416
Andre.M.416 Posts: 17 🌱

I am an instructor. I would like to find out which students have been visiting which pages in my Brightspace course.

I can access this information in two ways:

1. For an individual student, I click "Roster" and then select "View progress" from the drop-down menu next to the student's name. I then click "Content" and navigate to the individual pages to see when they visited and for how long.
  2. To see who has visited a specific page, I can go to that page and click the "Completion Summary" tab at the bottom for a list of users that have "Viewed the Topic."

Neither of these solutions is practical. I have 40+ students and hundreds of pages.

How can I generate/download a report with logs for all users and all pages?

How far back do the access logs go? If I check a student's progress in May, can I reliably find out if they accessed a page in January?

Tagged:

Answers

• Matt.W.287
    Matt.W.287 Posts: 48
    Options

Hi Andre

What you're looking for is the Content Progress Advanced Data Set (ADS). This is filtered by the Org Unit Number of the course you're investigating and I think supports a maximum of two years. This particular data set is helpful as it includes objects from the course that are complete (if you've configured Completion Tracking) or either visited or not visited. (*ADS are former Standard Data Exports which is why they differ from BDS which are themselves more like database tables)

Alternatively you can download the Content User Progress Brightspace Data Set (BDS), and combine it with the Content Objects data set to build your own report in Excel or some other BI tool (Tableau, PowerBI, etc). This is of course more work but in most systems includes the complete history for your organization (data sets are limited to some millions of rows and in all of my clients is their complete history).