New Access Token error, "Error: unable to get local issuer certificate"

Options
Maureen.B.923
Maureen.B.923 Posts: 106 🧭
edited November 2022 in Development

API newbie here. I'm taking the [Archived Content] Learn Postman With Paul course. I'm at the Get Initial Token phase in Postman. I've filled in all my fields, clicked "Get New Access Token", and I get prompted to sign in... Which I do - but then I get the, "Error: unable to get local issuer certificate" error. What am I missing?

Tagged:

Answers

• Samantha.B.305
    Samantha.B.305 Posts: 9 admin
    edited November 2022
    Options

Hi @Maureen Barrow​.

The error "Unable to get local issuer certificate" is caused by a misconfiguration of the SSL certificate on your machine. An SSL certificate is code on your web server that provides security for online communications. Thus, the error is occurring because the server cannot create a secure connection with your machine.

Here are some generic ways for how to fix an SSL certificate error:

• Diagnose the problem with an online tool. Search for an SSL certificate checker online to verify the details of the SSL certificate.
    • Install an intermediate certificate on your web server. If the issue is that your certificate authority (CA) is not trusted, you may need an intermediate certificate on your web server. These help browsers establish that the website's certificate was issued by a valid CA.
    • Generate a new Certificate Signing Request (CSR). If you are still receiving an error, generate a new CSR from your server and reissue it to your certificate provider. Steps for this can vary.