👉 Check out the New D2L Adventure Group to connect with engaging and accessible resources for best practices to empower K12 Members at every point on their educational adventures ⛰️

PGP - Where do I upload my key and the system to utilize it? Also, have do I force PGP?

Options
Andrew.M.628
Andrew.M.628 Posts: 3 🔍
edited October 2023 in K-12
Good Day

I'm actually a parent of a student, how do I upload my PGP Public key into the system? I also would like to know how an Org can set mandatory PGP for all students, administrators and teachers.

Furthermore, I'm sure I'm just not seeing the option, since no modern platform would forgo such a based staple of email / communication security.

Thanks
Tagged:

Answers

• Andrea.B.236
    Andrea.B.236 Posts: 181 admin
    Options

Hi @Andrew.M.628 ,

Thank you for reaching out to the Brightspace Community!

We have a few routes you can take with this. First, we do have information on Brightspace's Best Practices for Outgoing Mail. These utilize DKIM keys.

Another option is a free PGP tool, this will involve some setup and exchanging of secret keys out-of-band outside of Brightspace. There are some resources that can direct you in how to do this, like YouTube tutorials. We definitely recommend verifying that they are trusted sources!

• Andrew.M.628
    Options

Good Day

Thanks for getting back to me, DKIM and TXT DNS level validation is not an acceptable substitute for PGP. SPF, DMARC, DKIM and TXT records only add a very basic level of validation against the domain, but that doesn't create a proper validation layer, which is what PGP is for.

I'll grant you that using third part GPG and PGP software is an excellent idea when a platform lacks the basic core functionality, but I was hoping that a platform of this size might have basic email protections built in. Since those seem to be lacking, how long until they can be built in and enforced?