Transitioning Postman Knowledge to Custom Widgets

Options

Newbie here that likes to experiment with this stuff… I went through Postman with Paul (which is a fantastic resource) a couple years ago and have been doing lots of bulk tasks with it. Now I am taking those concepts a step further and attempting to create some custom Brightspace widgets that use Javascript to do Brightspace API calls right inside an admin course offering in Brightspace.

One item in particular I'm working on to start is a sandbox creator performing the standard POST /d2l/api/lp/(version)/courses/ call. After a lot of tinkering, I am actually able to get it to work! It creates a sandbox and uses the criteria I set in the body.

However, I know for a fact I am absolutely not doing it in a secure or practical way. This is because I am manually adding the access token that I'm retrieving from Postman into the javascript code itself - which I am confident is a big 'no-no' for security reasons. (Don't judge, I just wanted to get it to work at least once…)

How do I set this up to have the key stored in a more secure place and handle the refresh token? I am open to any tips and suggestions. I've read a lot of the documentation on here and understand the base concepts for Oauth 2.0 (thanks to my work in Postman) but am not sure how to go about it for doing something right within the Brightspace LE in the HTML editor. Keep in mind, I am pretty new to this stuff and am pumped I can make it do anything at this point. Thanks!

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Travis.H.362
    Travis.H.362 Posts: 23 🧭
    Answer ✓
    Options

This information is helpful, thanks! The 'Authorization Tokens that keep Expiring' link was especially insightful. I found that I can now run my calls while logged in as my admin user by simply adding 'X-CSRF-TOKEN': localStorage.getItem("XSRF.Token" as a header. Fantastic! I'm excited to explore this more and continue building.

Answers

• Stefanie.B.518