le 1.22 Classlist API not providing username and email?

Options
Akshya.Pandey5843
Akshya.Pandey5843 Posts: 7 🌱
edited November 2022 in Development

I am a developer for a 3rd party vendor that offers Attendance taking solutions to schools. As such, I make use of D2L APIs that provide me information about students in a course.

The API that I use to get enrollments is the classlist API (https://docs.valence.desire2learn.com/res/enroll.html#get--d2l-api-le-(version)-(orgUnitId)-classlist-)

However, I've found that this API wasn't giving me all of the expected information on a user.

In particular, I've got a sandbox course where I am making this particular API call:

https://devcop.brightspace.com/d2l/api/le/1.22/7380/classlist/

One of the responses I get for a student:

{"Identifier":"141865","ProfileIdentifier":"MAbWfHSD0v","DisplayName":"Stark, Anthony","Username":null,"OrgDefinedId":"astark","Email":null,"FirstName":"Anthony","LastName":"Stark","RoleId":110,"LastAccessed":"2020-06-08T19:15:11.900Z","IsOnline":false}

The username and email fields are null.

However, when I view this user profile from the admin panel, I see a username (astark) and an email (akshya@goqwickly.com).

Any idea why I am missing this information in the API response? Any help is appreciated!

Tagged:

Answers

• Richard.M.314
    Richard.M.314 Posts: 14
    edited November 2022
    Options

Hi,

This api follows the same settings as the Classlist UI. I think you need to enable this config: d2l.Tools.Classlist.DisplayEmail = True. There is also a paged version of the classlist api. I would recommend using this one: /d2l/api/le/(version)/(orgUnitId)/classlist/paged/ [GET]

• Akshya.Pandey5843
    edited November 2022
    Options

Hi Richard

Thank you for the response!

I am not quite sure how to get to the d2l.Tools.Classlist.DisplayEmail = True configuration that you've described?