How do I make iframe responsive in Daylight?

John.Davis173
John.Davis173 Posts: 13 🌱
edited November 2022 in Development

I am currently testing Daylight for the August release. My organization uses Vimeo for videos. The height and width requirements for iframe just make it look bad in the right hand column of the new homepage. I found some CSS code for responsive iframes, but I'm not a coder and don't know how to put it into the HTML editor in the WYSIWYG.

Does anyone have suggestions for responsive iframe code?

Thanks!

Answers

• Bill.H.891
    Bill.H.891 Posts: 13 🌱
    edited November 2022

Here is code that will work. Replace the bolded url here with the url in the embed code you get from Vimeo.

<div style="position: relative; display: block; max-width: 100%;"><div style="padding-top: 56.25%;"><iframe src="url here

allowfullscreen 

webkitallowfullscreen 

mozallowfullscreen 

style="position: absolute; top: 0px; right: 0px; bottom: 0px; left: 0px; width: 100%; height: 100%;"></iframe></div></div>

To put this code in a file, go to the HTML editor and choose the code icon htmlcode in the bottom left. This will open the HTML code view. Paste the code above in the location where you want the video to be and save.

• Bill.H.891
    edited November 2022

I forgot to mention that you can also use the HTML templates provided by D2L (https://community.brightspace.com/generic/s/article/Daylight-HTML-Template). They include a template page for responsive videos.

• John.Davis173
    edited November 2022

Thanks @Bill Harrison​  ! I found that when I put a <div> around the <iframe> change the width and height to "100%" instead of the designated pixels, it gave me the results I wanted. For the news feed in the right column view of my homepage.

Original:

<p><iframe width="640" height="564" src="URL" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen mozallowfullscreen webkitAllowFullScreen></iframe></p>

Fix: