Designer Diary: How I Use Layouts to Build Content Pages

Options
Joey.S.348
Joey.S.348 Posts: 28
edited March 8 in Social Groups

I’m an instructional designer working with Creator+ to build content at D2L. In this series, I’ll share some of the tips, tricks, and hidden gems of the Creator+ suite.

Instructional designers know that content craves structure. One of the challenges in learning design is arranging text and multimedia into an elegant, organized state. It takes a lot of skill to break an unwieldy piece of source content into a manageable learning experience.

That’s why Layouts is a game-changer. My content pages are no longer limited to one design, and I can easily keep things fresh by blending in panels of content. Furthermore, I don’t have to use tables with invisible borders to style text and images, which makes my pages more accessible to screen readers.

So, let’s look at Layouts. In this article, I’ll briefly explain Layouts and discuss how I use this tool to structure my content pages.

What are Layouts?

Layouts is a Creator+ feature that is used to structure content on an HTML page. They are a great way to align text with images, videos, or even Creator+ Elements.

There are three types of Layouts available: two equally-sized panels, two unequally-sized panels, and three equally-sized panels.

The following examples demonstrate each Creator+ Layout.

If you want to see Layouts in action, I recommend checking out the Layouts module in our Instructional Design Best Practices course. 

Building with Layouts 

The beauty of Layouts is their ease of use. Just select the “Other Insert Options” button, choose Layouts, and start adding content. But before you add a Layout, you should consider a few things. Here are my three recommendations when building with Layouts. 

Be Purposeful